Call for applications - $25,000 Writers' Award 2021

Applications are now open for the 2021 Writers' Award. This award is proudly brought to you by Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) and the New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA).

What do Nick Bollinger, Rebecca Macfie, and Nic Low (Ngai Tahu) have in common? They have all received a $25,000 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award.

  • $25,000 award to a New Zealand writer
  • One of the highest non-fiction prizes in New Zealand literature
  • Open Now

The award was established to provide financial support for writers wishing to devote time to a specific project, and to cover reasonable research expenses relating to it. Writers with work in a broad range of non-fiction genres, including educational works, can apply. The CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award supported the creation of Rebecca Macfie's book Helen Kelly: Her Life (Awa Press), a biography of one of New Zealand’s political legends; Nic Low's book Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand (Text Publishing, out in July); and is supporting Nick Bollinger with his upcoming new book.

Read to apply?

First: Read the CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award Guidelines

Next: Consider reading this ‘Award Alchemy’ (pdf) article from the NZ Author Magazine or listening to Tracey Farr in the NZSA Live! podcast episode Panel Discussion on the business of being a writer (starting at minute 1.50) on putting together the best application you can.

Then: Complete the CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award Application Form

Receiving the award feels like a vote of confidence. It shows me that the subject of the book I am working on excites other people as much as it excites me, and I’m encouraged by their belief in my ability to write it. Crucially, it has bought me the time to dig deeper into the research and fine-tune the storytelling.

Nick Bollinger , 2020 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award Recipient

Nick Bollinger was awarded the 2020 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award for his project Revolutions Per Minute: The Counterculture in New Zealand 1960-1975. Read more here >>

The CLNZ/NZSA Writers’ Award is made possible through CLNZ’s Cultural Fund. The Cultural Fund’s objectives are to:

Protect – writers and publishers’ ability to earn revenue from their works
Support – the creation and production of new works and assist the commercial success of New Zealand works
Grow – the number of works created and skills in the industry

We encourage non-fiction writers to consider applying for this award. Applications for the full range of non-fiction genre are welcome. Applicants must be New Zealand citizens or permanent residents. It is the intention that a book will be published as a result of receiving the award.

Applications must be completed online by 4pm Friday 2 July 2021. The successful recipient will be contacted directly and we will also publish the announcement on the CLNZ and NZSA websites and social channels.

An application fee of $25 is required to complete your application. This fee helps ensure the sustainable administration of the grants.

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Related News & Events

Hit enter to submit