2024 $25,000 Writers' Award now open

2024 $25,000 Writers' Award now open

Applications are now open for the 2024 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award. This award is proudly brought to you by Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) and the New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA).

Call for applications - $25,000 Writers' Award 2024

The CLNZ | NZSA Writers' Award of $25,000 is one of the highest value non-fiction prizes in New Zealand literature, and is now open for applications.

He $25,000 tenui o te Karāti Kaituhi o te CLNZ me te NZSA, te karāti mātua mo ngā pakimaero-pono o ngā momo-tuhinga o Aotearoa. Ka taea e ngā Kaituhi te tuku tono mō tēnei karāti.

  • Awards $25,000 cash grant to a New Zealand writer
  • Assists with research and associated costs
  • Is one of the highest value prizes awarded for non-fiction in New Zealand
  • Is open now for entries

The award was established to provide financial support for writers wishing to devote time to a specific project, and to cover reasonable research expenses relating to it. Writers with work in a broad range of non-fiction genres, including educational works, can apply.

The Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) and the New Zealand Society of Authors Te Puni Kaituhi o Aotearoa (NZSA) Writers' Award has supported the creation of Rebecca Macfie's book Helen Kelly: Her Life (Awa Press), a biography of one of New Zealand’s political legends; Nic Low's book Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand (Text); the creation of Nick Bollinger's Ockham award-winning book Jumping Sundays: The Rise and Fall of the Counterculture in Aotearoa / New Zealand  (AUP), Iona Winter’s creative non-fiction project, A counter of moons and the publication of Jade Kake’s book, Rewi: Ātahaere, kia tere, a tribute to the late architect Rewi Thompson.

2023 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award Recipient, Tom Doig
2023 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award Recipient, Tom Doig

Last year, writer and performer Tom Doig won for his project with the working title We Are All Preppers Now: Kiwis Making Plans for the End of the World. He says:

Winning the CLNZ | NZSA Writers’ Award has been a huge boost, both for my morale - the sense that my work on preppers and survivalists is important, and worth persevering with - and materially. The financial support has allowed me to dive into some dedicated writing and rewriting, with some research missions planned for the future. Working on non-fiction books is hard and takes ages - but this award has already made my manuscript better and will help me get it done sooner. I'd strongly encourage all Kiwi non-fiction writers with a half-finished book project to apply!

Tom Doig , 2023 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award Recipient

Want to apply?

First: Read the CLNZ | NZSA Writers’ Award Guidelines

Then: Fill in the CLNZ | NZSA Writers' Award Application Form

We encourage non-fiction writers to consider applying for this award. Applications across the full range of non-fiction genres are welcome.  Applicants must be New Zealand citizens or permanent residents. It is the clear intention of the CLNZ | NZSA Writers' Award that a book will be published as a result of being a recipient of the award.

Applications must be completed online by 4pm on Monday 1 July 2024.

Unsuccessful applicants will be advised before recipients are announced. Successful recipients will be contacted directly, and we will also publish the announcement on the CLNZ and NZSA websites and via social media.

The CLNZ | NZSA Writers’ Award is made possible through Copyright Licensing New Zealand’s Cultural Fund. The Cultural Fund’s objectives are to protect writers and publishers’ ability to earn revenue from their works; support the creation and production of new works and assist the commercial success of New Zealand works; and grow the number of works created and skills in the industry.

NZSA is proud to be administering the awards in 2024.

New Zealand Society of Authors Te Puni Kaituhi O Aotearoa (PEN NZ Inc) was established in 1934 and is the principal organisation representing writers’ interests in NZ. A national office oversees 8 branches and hubs, administers prizes and awards, runs professional development programmes and collaborates across the sector to raise the visibility of NZ writers and NZ writing.

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Related News & Blogs

Hit enter to submit